Fallon's bar & café, although open a relatively short time, it's heritage stretches back a good deal further.
The original Fallons opened its doors in 1922 in Prosperous under the capable hands of Willie and Lucy Fallon. Selling seafood chowder back then was a tad ambitious so the business model had a slightly different twist. Starting out as a Hardware with an attached bar licence the hostelry (now Larrys) set the foundation for the business it is today. The name took a brief trip to Wicklow where it resided over the door of Frank & Clare's Leitrim Bar on the seafront (one of the first pubs in Ireland to serve bar food).
In 1978 the Name returned to Kildare as Frank moved the family to the Red House Inn. Here Frank and Clare ran the famous old eatery until their son Brian took over in 1989. A vicious fire destroyed the old house in 2005 and raised the great business to the ground.
The name once again went on the move this time travelling short distance to Kilcullen, it's arrival replacing another great name "Berneys". Berneys has it's own history and has been synonymous with fine food for over three decades. Fallon's bar & café is presently enjoying a vibrant trade, keeping the story going and making it's own bit of history.